2022 Was My Worst Year Yet!

Natalie Astrid
3 min readJan 30, 2023

And how I’m making it better.

Photo by Isaac Smith on Unsplash

For some, 2022 may have been the best year yet, with possible new experiences and milestones like a new job, engagement, living situation, etc. However, for me, it was not. 2022 was a tough and lonely year. I say all of this not to dull anyone’s sparkle of what 2022 was but to provide context to what was a very intense year.

I want to state that I understand that others experienced more challenging experiences than I did this past year, but this is my perspective and what I’ve learned through my difficulties in 2022.

For context, I am in the thick of grad school, which for the year 2022 became my main focus as I have been trying to accelerate through my counseling masters program at a very fast rate. Along with the overwhelmingness of school, I’ve worked to afford my extremely high bay area rent and have almost isolated myself due to how far my apartment is from friends and loved ones. On top of that, I started my internship in the field, and for anyone who isn’t aware mental health is pretty intense work. All of this and more led to me becoming very depressed, extremely burnt out, and incredibly anxious.

I know a new year doesn’t change anything, but I am so grateful for the start of 2023. In my mind, it feels like a new start and a fresh perspective to try…I don’t know…being happy?

--

--

Natalie Astrid

Theatre and Film creator, Marriage and Family therapy student, and girl just trying her best.